Trespassing in Utah may not seem like a serious offense. It is, however, a crime with very real consequences. If you have been charged with Criminal Trespass in Utah, you should immediately contact a Utah criminal defense lawyer with experience defending people who have been charged with Criminal Trespass. The criminal defense attorneys at Intermountain Legal have spent thousands of hours in court and have helped hundreds of people successfully navigate through the complicated Utah criminal justice system. People who get the help of an experienced criminal defense lawyer from Intermountain Legal almost universally get a better result in their Criminal Trespass case than people who try to resolve their case without the help of a criminal defense attorney. This is because we have the specialized knowledge it takes to interpret the evidence to your advantage and to work with Utah prosecutors and judges. In some circumstances, we may even be able to get the Criminal Trespass charges against you dropped.
Utah Criminal Trespass Law
It is against the law in Utah to trespass on another person’s private property. You may not enter or remain on private property if your intention is to:
- Annoy or injure another person.
- Cause any damage to the property, including using graffiti.
- Commit a crime, other than a theft or a felony. If your intention is to commit a theft or a felony you can be charged with other more serious crimes, such as burglary.
Even if you did not specifically intend any of these things, you can still be charged with Criminal Trespass if you should have known that your presence on the private property would cause someone else to fear for their safety.
Your intentions on the property also do not matter if you enter or remain on the private property after having been given notice that it is private property. Notice that the property is private can come in the form of personal communication from the owner of the property or someone who appears to have authority from the owner, from a fence or other enclosure that is obviously designed to keep intruders off the property, or from signs that are posted in such a way that intruders should notice them.
You may have a defense against a charge of Criminal Trespassing in Utah if the private property was open to the public at the time that you entered or remained on it and if your conduct while there did not substantially interfere with the owner’s use of the property.
Utah Criminal Trespass Consequences
In most cases, Criminal Trespass is prosecuted as a class B misdemeanor in Utah. However, if the intrusion was into a dwelling, then Criminal Trespass is charged as a class A misdemeanor. Utah penalties for a class B misdemeanor can include up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1000. Utah penalties for a class A misdemeanor can include up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2500. A conviction for Criminal Trespass can also result in a criminal record, community service hours, and probation. Any criminal record, even one for a misdemeanor, can stand in the way of employment positions, volunteer opportunities, lease agreements, and create other unforeseen roadblocks in your future.
Contact a Utah Criminal Trespass Attorney
When you call Intermountain Legal, you will receive a free consultation with an experienced Utah Criminal Trespass Lawyer. We will listen to your unique story and answer your questions. We will also be able to advise you about the best direction to take in your Criminal Trespass case. We will even tell you if your case really doesn’t warrant hiring a criminal defense lawyer. Let us help you put your Criminal Trespass charges behind you with the best results possible.