What Are The Penalties For A Misdemeanor In Utah?
The Legislature sets the minimum and maximum for all types of classifications, which are divided into 3 classifications: Class A, Class B, and Class C. There is also a category under a Class C misdemeanor, which is called an infraction.
Class A misdemeanor- The minimum and maximum jail time for a Class A is 0 to 365 days in jail. There is no possible prison time for a Class A misdemeanor, but you can be sentenced up to 365 days in jail. The judge can impose the maximum, or they can suspend some or all of the jail time. The maximum fine for Class A misdemeanor is $2,500. In the state of Utah there is a 90 percent surcharge imposed for criminal convictions, which mean 90 percent in addition to $2,500.
Class B misdemeanor- 0 to 180 days in jail for incarceration with maximum fine of $1,000, plus 90 percent surcharge.
Class C misdemeanor- 0 to 90 days in jail with maximum fine of $750, plus 35 percent surcharge.
Infraction- In some instances it is still considered a crime, in others it is non-criminal. There is no possible jail time for an infraction, so they cannot impose you to jail unless you have contempt of court. Infraction is punishable by a fine of $750, plus 90 percent surcharge.
Please note: Information is based on the 2014 Legislative Session. Fines and jail time can go up or down after 2014.